How One Woman Emailed Her Way To A Perfect Shade Of Foundation

As I have mentioned a few times in my previous posts, I am in a number of awesome Facebook groups. One of those groups is a makeup group for black women. We share tips, product reviews, and looks of the day…among many other things. This group is important for us because it’s not always easy for us to find products that flatter our features and complexions. For many women of color, a lack of such products can be a deal breaker. Recently, a member of the makeup group shared her awesome experience with Ocean Mist Cosmetics regarding that very issue.The way they handled her search for a foundation color was so amazing that I had to share with all of my readers. So here’s the story, as shared by Samantha.

L to R: Mocha, Cocoa and Mahogany foundations

I was searching online last week for free samples of makeup and came across Ocean Mist Cosmetics mineral makeup. Their samples were free, I just paid shipping for three foundations, blush/bronzer, concealer, and finishing powder. I jumped on it! Anyway, I chose 3 foundations that I felt would closely match my chocolate-y complexion. Needless to say, I was not impressed. The foundations I received were three of the darkest [available] and were useless for my skin tone. So I wrote them about my disappointment and the emails between them and me are below.
Hi Leah,I recently purchased a sample kit of your mineral makeup. I was not happy with the colors of the foundation that I assumed were for African American women. I chose three colors to see which one would be a better fit for me and none of them work. I will probably purchase blush and eye makeup, but I think your foundation for darker women of color needs some work. I have included a photo of colors that we look for in foundation. I’m not sure of the demographic of your customers, but just wanted to make a suggestion in case you were interested. Thanks for your time! 🙂

-Samantha


Hi Samantha,
Thank you so much for the suggestion. We will try to match some of these colors and make new products. One issue we have ran into is that adding so much pigments gives a totally different feel and texture and sometimes an ashy look. But if others can do it than so can we. Is their any more products you would like to try from the OMC website? I would be glad to send you a couple of free samples for you taking the time to offer us advice. Just let me know and send me your mailing address.
Regards,
Leah
Ocean Mist Cosmetics


Hi Leah,

Thanks so much for your response! I appreciate it. You don’t have to send me any free samples, buuuuut since you’re offering! LOL I would love to try an eye shadow or two. I really like the Purple Puffin and the Cold Black. Thank you so much!


Ok Samantha,

Your samples will be mailed ASAP!
Thanks again for your advice

Leah


Hi Samantha,
The guys in the lab went right to work on some darker foundations as you suggested. Take a look at these new dark foundations and if you don’t mind let me know what you think. Would you like to try some of these colors?

-Leah

The new sample shades that were created.

Leah,
Awesome! I am so pleased that you guys took me serious. I can’t wait to try a couple. These look like a step in the right direction. Can they be mixed to achieve the desired shade?

-Samantha


Samantha,

Thanks for getting back with us. We are going to mail you samples of these new dark foundations today (we already mailed you the eyeshadow samples you requested). And yes you can mix to get the desired shade. If you do, measure your mixture so we can duplicate the color. Maybe we can even name it after you or let you name it 🙂 Anyhow, let us know what you think once you try the products and thanks for your help.
Regards,
Leah


Leah,

Thank you so much for being awesome! I appreciate you taking time to perfect your product! Other businesses can learn from you! And a shade named by me? Wow lol. Thanks again, and I wish you guys all the success and blessings in the world!!

Your new #1 loyal customer,

Samantha

If you’d like to give Ocean Mist Cosmetics a try, visit their website by clicking here. Samantha said the new shades will take a while before being available on the site, as several tests need to take place. To make sure you don’t miss the release of these new shades, like Ocean Mist Cosmetics’ page on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

