Tai’s Favorite Oils

If you’re a kinky-curly natural girl like myself, you use a lot of oils. Not only do I use oil in my hair, but I use some oils for moisturizing my skin and for cooking. This past month, I have either purchased or received* some amazing oils to meet all of these needs. Here are some of my favorites and how I use them. 

Manuka oil:

7b22a2d6dc2e2fbf5f05a7996279050ab1977fc8

This oil is an essential that is drawn from the manuka branch/leaf. Manuka oil helps to create healthy-looking skin, reduce or eliminate dandruff, and remedy insect bites/stings. It is an antibacterial, anti-fungal, anti-inflammatory, anti-histaminic, and anti-allergenic. I use this oil to get rid of dandruff because it gets really bad this time of year. Since using this product, I have seen a great change in how long my scalp can go without getting flaky. It’s also a good oil to mix in my Jamaican black castor oil. The kind I use is Living Nature 100% pure manuka oil, which was sent to me byNatural Beauty Limited. It can be purchased here.

Jamaican Black Castor Oil:

91jhzgnpnxl-_sy679_

You would think I would have been using this oil for many years, but no. I just always looked at this oil as one reserved for people who have thin or shedding hair. That wasn’t my problem, so why did I need it? Well, sometimes…a girl’s edges start thinning after having a baby. My edges needed a lotta bit of TLC, so I went out and bought a huge bottle of this stuff. I added about 20 drops of manuka oil to the bottle and I use it as the final step of the LCO (liquid, cream, and oil) moisturizing method. Of course, I add a little extra to my hairline. My husband LOVES using this oil on his beard. I think the only flaw of this product is the smell, but it can be remedied by adding a few drops of your favorite essential oil. I purchased my bottle at my local beauty supply, but it’s also available online.

Coconut Oil:

spt-93451-1

This is definitely one of those products that HAS to be in the house at all times. Actually, we have to have two jars in the house at all times. One stays in the kitchen cupboard for cooking, as it’s a great replacement for butter in our household.I also like taking spoonfuls from this jar to swish in my mouth (i.e. oil pulling). The other jar stays on my dresser and it is community grease! I use some on my hair, on my baby’s hair, and my husband uses it on his beard. I also use it to massage my aches and pains away at the end of the day. I do like coconut oil as a body moisturizer for the summer, but I prefer whipped shea butter for winter months. I am not picky when it comes to my coconut oil brand, as long as it’s virgin and organic. If you don’t smell like a coconut macaroon, you probably have some processed oil. I like to buy mine from Target…whatever is on sale.

Extra Virgin Olive Oil:

bottle_robusto

I LOVE EVOO! When I was a kid, I just loved calling it EVOO. Who didn’t like mimicking Emeril Lagasse? Now that I am an adult, I can appreciate all of the benefits of this amazing oil. When Influenster sent me some Filippo Berio Robusto EVOO to review*, I was so excited! I love flavorful olive oil and Robusto is just that. I can do so many great things with it (a few of which will be shared in a future video). I love making my own salad dressing, pesto, bruschetta, and pasta sauce. Mmm. This olive oil gives each of these things a nice flavor boost. Aside from cooking, olive oil is awesome for deep conditioning treatments.  Find Filippo Berio wherever you purchase groceries, but I like purchasing at Target.

These are the oils that I love right now, but my favorite oils are always changing. Let me know which ones you love and I’ll give them a try.

 

 

Leave a Reply

